Lent

Small Background Information

Around this time last year, I did not do anything for Lent. Despite being a Christian, I knew very little about it.

This year, I made sure to do my research so that I could get involved.

Asking around, and looking for information, I now know that Lent is a period of time which many Catholics and Christians are involved in. “The purpose of Lent is the preparation of the believer through prayer, doing penance, repentance of sins, almsgiving, atonement, and self-denial.” (Wikipedia may not be a reliable source, but I thought that since it was a great explanation and not an essay, so why not? *gives a cheeky smirk*). 

It relates to Jesus, and his endurance against temptation by Satan, in the wilderness.

What Lent Means to Me

For myself personally, I view Lent as a period of time I can truly humble myself and connect with God as much as I can. I want to go deeper into my relationship and be detached from wordly things. This is an opportunity to reflect on what I have done in the past, and be able to improve my heart towards God and other people in my life. It is a chance to demonstrate a godly behaviour, which I have not been doing for a while.

Going Vegetarian

I have decided to become a vegetarian for Lent, for various reasons:

1. I seem to have a mild obsession with chicken, and thought I should be more disciplined in what I chose to indulge in.

2. I am against animal cruelty and exploitation, hence why I choose not to buy animal tested products, and not visit any tourism industry where animals are used for entertainment. I realised that my eating lifestyle was a contradiction to my belief, and so Lent became an opportunity for me to live out that belief.

3. This was something I wanted to do for a while, and to see how it impacts on my wellbeing.

4. I wanted to contribute to help changing the world, even if it was just a small role on my behalf.

This blog post is nothing special, just my chance to remember my first Lent.

Leave a Reply

